Laura Kaye’s Sexy Gods – South of Surrender

First posted on my group blog Paranormal Unbound in August – reposting here in case you missed it because this paranormal romance series rules! 🙂

book cover

Look out world–sexy gods on the loose!
And Laura Kaye serves them up in a sizzling blend of romance, sibling/family drama, and Greek mythology.

South of Surrender, the third book in Kaye’s Hearts of the Anemoi series, stars Chrysander Notos, Supreme God of the South Wind and Summer, and one of four brothers-slash-deities controlling the directional winds. The story opens with Chrys fighting his evil brother Eurus, the East wind god. Chrys wants to save his evil brother, believing him redeemable. His loyalty to that particular family tie almost kills him in the opening scene. Defeated by Eurus, Chrys crashes through the roof of Laney Summerlyn’s horse barn. And thus our hero and heroine meet.

Chrys is brave and also tortured and flawed, the latter making him an endearing character you want to comfort. Laney is selfless, compassionate, smart, and also independent despite a degenerative eye disease making her nearly blind. To deal with her failing eyesight, she lives a well-organized, highly structured life. That is, until a gorgeous god crash-lands in her barn and turns her well-ordered life upside down.

Chrys and Laney have great chemistry and a major depth of feeling made all the more intense by her impaired vision. Without her sight, she sees the true man he hides inside. But there are obstacles in their path to a Happily Ever After: she’s human, he’s not; Chrys carries around some psychological baggage he needs to overcome (sorry, no spoilers here); and Eurus, in his bid for power, is out to destroy the Anemoi and everyone they love. And humans make especially vulnerable targets.

The story is a jam-packed with goodness — well-choreographed action scenes, tender and steamy moments and tear-inducing, gut wrenchingly sad moments, too. Kaye does a fabulous job of layering it all together to make a story I could not put down until the end. And even then, I wanted more!

Hearts of the Anemoi Series
South of Surrender is a sexy, heartbreaking and heartwarming must-read for series fans. For new readers in the audience, I recommend starting with the first two books. Witness Eurus’s downward spiral into ever-increasing horribleness and enjoy getting to know the rest of Chrys’s family in-depth.

Reading Order
Meet these sexy, protective and powerful gods and the smart and savvy women they love.

  • North of Need – Owen Winters and Megan Snow
  • West of Want – Zephyros Martius and Marcella Raines
  • South of Surrender – Chrysander Notos and Laney Summerlyn
  • East of Ecstasy – coming April 2014! Cover Reveal –>

Happy Reading!

%d bloggers like this: